Estonia-Ireland: Clash of the Bantamweight Titans

JÜRI ESTAM 10. nov. 2011

Never in days of old, when I had the “enormous fortune” to be stuck with football yobs in the subways of Munich (“wir sind die blöde Idioten” or “we are the stupid Idiots” echoing around innocent passers-by as their rallying cry), did I think I’d ever venture to write a piece about soccer (European football), but as Butch Cassidy once declared, “there are no rules in a knife fight”. There is always a first time for everything. A good Estonian has gotta do what he has gotta do.

Estonia (population 1.3 million) faces Republic of Ireland (population 4.5 million) in a two-game play-off during the first half of November. Round 1 to transpire this Friday – Nov. 11 – while the second match will be played Tuesday, Nov. 15 in Dublin.

 

Responding preemptively to nitpickers, "bantamweight" is of course boxing nomenclature, but you get my drift.

 

What's at stake is a place at next summer's UEFA European Football Championship – commonly referred to as Euro 2012 or the Euro Cup. The Irish soccer team arrives in Tallinn tonight (Wednesday), with a considerable number of their countrymen in tow. This is a considerably bigger deal for Eesti than your average sports event!

 

Friday kickoff (with time conversions for friends abroad)

- Tallinn time 21:35 (9:35 p.m.)

- London and Dublin time 19:35 (7:35 p.m.)

- New York and Toronto: 2:35 p.m.

- Los Angeles: 11:35 a.m.

 

Results should be known about two hours later.

 

Read more